9-11 Remembrance Ceremony

Fort Totten, Bayside, NY
13 September 2015

On 13 September 2015, a Remembrance Ceremony hosted by the 1st Mobilization Support Group to honor the six Soldiers of the 77th Regional Readiness Command who perished at the World Trade Center on 9-11-01 was held in the 77th Memorial Grove next to the Ernie Pyle USAR Center, Fort Totten, NY.

Beginning in 2002, our Association has sponsored the 77th Memorial Grove as a way to honor all of the Soldiers of the 77th Infantry Division and its successor organizations.  On 3 November 2002, a polished granite monument, which had been purchased by our Association, in the center of the Grove was specifically dedicated to the memory of the six WTC Soldiers: LTC William Pohlman; CPT Michael Dermot Mullan; CPT Mark P. Whitford; WO1 Ronald P. Bucca; SSG Frederick J. Ill, Jr.; and SGT Shawn Edward Powell.  Five of these were employed in their civilian capacities by the New York City Fire Department at the time of their deaths.

The 2015 ceremony, which was held in front of formations of NYC Firefighters and Soldiers from various units, was led as Master of Ceremony by MSG Jeffrey Browne, USAR.  It featured remarks by MG George E. Barker (Ret), Former Commander, 77th ARCOM, who is a long-time member of our Association, and COL Robert S. Cooley, Jr., Commander 1st Mobilization Support Group, and Center Commander, Fort Totten.  Detailed biographies of MG Barker and COL Cooley, and of the six Soldiers of the 77th RRC being honored, appeared in the program for the ceremony.  

 Click here to see the program for the 9-11 Remembrance Ceremony. An Invocation was offered by CHAP (LTC) Gregory Distad, 1st MSG, and a Benediction was offered by CHAP (CPT) Blessing Jacobs.

Also participating in the ceremony were a Color Guard of the 354th MCB; an Honor Guard of the 3rd Brigade HHC; the 319th U.S. Army Band, led by SFC Patricia Flowers; and the New Generation Choir.

Attending the ceremony on behalf of our Association as guests were the following Directors: COL Louis H. Sudholz, Jr. (Ret), President; COL (Ret) and Mrs. Lawrence M. Bellman; COL Edwin G. Logan (Ret); LTC (Ret) and Mrs. John W. Peterkin; and Mr. Malcolm R. Schade.  Also attending from our Association were LTC Glennie L. Millard (Ret); LTC Lisandro L. Murphy, USAR; and SFC Ronald I. Peters (Ret).

Photos of this event can be viewed on the Photo Albums page under the “News & Events” tab of this web site.